





The CERN Schools of Computing in a nutshell

Since the early seventies CERN has organized the CERN Schools of Computing (CSC), in one of the CERN Member States. CSCs, usually held in August/September, last two weeks and are open to postgraduate students and research workers with a few years of experience in elementary particle physics, in computing or in related fields. Attendance ranges from 70 to 80 students, typically of 15 to 25 different nationalities.

Theory and practice, Advanced Environment



The two-week programme of the CSC series is comprised of a series of lectures and hand-on exercises.

The hands-on part is a central component of the school, and is often structured in the form of projects to be carried out by groups of students. To this end, a computing infrastructure is created on the site of the school.

Examination and Certificate

A final examination is proposed to students. In case of success, formal certificates of proficiency are delivered by CERN.

These may be used by some participants, who are also engaged in university curricula, to obtain credits.

Who are the CSC students?



Students apply to the CSC from all over the world. The selection process takes into account the technical background of the applicants, their age, areas of work and interest, expectations, geographical origin and gender.

Origin of students over the past eight years (51 nationalities):

Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cameroon, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Lithuania, Mexico, Moldova, Morocco, Norway, Pakistan, People's Republic of China, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro, South Africa, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, The Netherlands, United Kingdom, Ukraine, USA, Venezuela

European Union support



For the period 2004-2007, CSCs are supported by the European Union as part of the FP6 Marie-Curie Conference and Training Courses actions.

As a result, participants who satisfy the EU eligibility conditions may receive grants to cover part or all of the Fees and Living Expenses as well as part or all of their Travel Expenses.



CSC 2006: 21 August - 1 September 2006 in Helsinki, Finland Organized in collaboration with the Helsinki Institute of Physics



GRID Technologies

The Grid track delivers unique theoretical and **hands-on** education on some of the most advanced GRID topics.

Programme Highlights

Software Technologies

The Software track addresses the most relevant modern techniques and tools for large scale distributed software development and handling as well as for computer security.

Physics Computing

The Physics Computing track focuses on informatics topics specific to the HEP community. After setting-the-scene lectures, it addresses experiment simulation and visualization.

Lecturers

Helene Cordier
François Fluckiger
Rudi Frühwirth
Robert G. Jacobsen
Erwin Laure
Martin Liendl
Alberto Pace
Klaus Schossmaier
Heinz Stockinger

CSC2006 Organization

	CSC2006 Organization			
			_	1970
	Central	Director	Francois Flückiger	1972
	Management	Administrative Manager	Fabienne Baud-Lavigne	1974
	, ,	Technical Manager	Andreas Hirstius	1976
				1978
	A 1 '	01 :	- 	1980
	Advisory	Chairman	Rudi Frühwirth	1982
	Committee			1984
		Examination Coordinator Equal Opportunities	Wisla Carena	1986
				1987
		Officer		1988
		Tuestassassinatass	Desait Full-trained	1989 1990
		Track coordinators	Rudi Frühwirth	1991
			Erwin Laure Pere Mato	1992
		-	Patricia McBride	1993
			Andreas Pfeiffer	1994
				1995
			Heinz Stockinger	1996
				1997
		Ex-officio members	Wolfgang von Rüden	1998
			Veikko Karimäki	1999
				2000
				2001
	Local Organizing	Chairman	Veikko Karimäki	2002
				2003
	Committee			2004
				2005
				2006

History of schools

nistory of schools					
1970	Varenna	Italy			
1972	Pertisau	Austria			
1974	Godöysund	Norway			
1976	La Gr. Motte	France			
1978	Jadwisin	Poland			
1980	Vraona	Greece			
1982	Zinal	Switzerland			
1984	Aiguablava	Spain			
1986	Renesse	The Nether.			
1987	Troia	Portugal			
1988	Oxford	Great Britain			
1989	Bad Herrenhalb	Germany			
1990	Ysemonde	Belgium			
1991	Ystad	Sweden			
1992	L'Aquila	Italy			
1993	L'Aquila	Italy			
1994	Sopron	Hungary			
1995	Arles	France			
1996	Egmond an Zee	The Nether.			
1997	Pruhonice	Czech Rep.			
1998	Funchal	Portugal			
1999	St. Jablonki	Poland			
2000	Marathon	Greece			
2001	Santander	Spain			
2002	Vico Equense	Italy			
2003	Krems a.d. Dona				
2004	Vico Equense	Italy			
2005	Saint Malo	France			
2006	Helsinki	Finland			